Kate Morris wins! The Carrotfarm’s first submission!

Every six months or so I get a cryptic letter in the mail from Kate, instructing me to produce poems from the newspaper clippings she’s provided, or some other such game. A former Montreal squatter now hailing from Toronto, she basically keeps me sane through g-chat while I waste away at my day job. I’m excited she’s the first to post her poems on Carrotfarm. I like how Kate uses found words to construct her poems. She explained to me that the poem included here is from November 2002, Montreal, text reflections taken in a mirror. At her urging, I embarked on one of Kate’s collaborative projects last year but ended up carrying the project (20 or so minuscule paper words, a template for the gluing, glue and a popsicle stick) through Spain, Morocco, France, England and Scotland before finally finishing the damn thing when back in Montreal. You can make an instant friend of Kate by pledging your heart, soul and crassness to one of her artistic experiments at: http://forgottenenglishandotheroddities.blogspot.com/

Demolition Dreaming

~ by carrotfarm on May 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
