I hope my therapist does not make art about me

Last night I went to an art exhibit by psychiatrists at Galerie Frezza Lesage, which is a newish gallery in my hood. Some of the work was really interesting, most notably a chia-pet inspiried Crucifixion by Pierre Leichner and a series of eerie, but fascinating pastel and watercolour drawings by Jaswant Guzder. Jaswant explained that her drawings were inspired by years spent listening as a therapist to the confessing among us. I couldn’t help but wonder why these yellow canaries kept showing up in her work. What’s with the birds? Do many of us have bird phobias?

Though not the best work in the show (though definetely the most colourful), I really enjoyed talking to Haitain born artist Alix Rey. He was by far one of the happiest people I’ve ever met. Way to break down the stereotype that all shrinks are really depressives, Alix!

Anyway, if you are in the Italian part of town in search of canoli (GO TO ROMA, best canoli in town) take a peek at this show:  6378 boul. St-Laurent. They might even have more free wine tonight.

psychiatry

~ by carrotfarm on June 5, 2009.

One Response to “I hope my therapist does not make art about me”

  1. Bonjour, j’ai mis votre lien web dans mon site web (in progress) : galeriefrezzalesage.com
    Diane

Leave a Reply

 
