Land and Construct: Lily Mead Martin’s Abstract Architecture

There is something eerie and beautiful when an artist’s work reflects my obsessions and preoccupations. I suppose it shouldn’t surprise me that Lily Mead Martin’s latest drawings have had such a self-affirming effect; she is the kind of artist whose work demands (but ever so gently) that you get on her wavelength. Some time ago I wrote about her show at the Mohair Salon, Traduire Fleur, which took place one chilly winter night in my mini gallery in Montreal, QC.  On opening night, the gallery walls  transformed into a dream-scape garden that cocooned the many gallery goers.

Since moving to Edinburgh in September, I’ve been exploring and writing about the intimacy of architecture and of late, an American photographer named Francesca Woodman, whose photographs are haunting playscapes of the thresholds and boundaries of and in the house.  (Photo Gallery of Woodman’s photography here: http://www.heenan.net/woodman/)

So, when I saw Lily’s latest work I couldn’t help feel like she was speaking to these discourses that have been occupying my mind space. Lily wrote to me that,

“They are abstracted architectural plans, set over an ideal landscape space…The two ideas, land and construct, come from an interest in the natural…what architectural both severs and creates. They are abstracted because I didn’t want to make suggested plans for houses, towns, cities, as much as illustrate how I have been seeing construction as something more ephemeral than we usually consider… The ground acts as a sieve for our constructed dreams.”

She will be having a show of all new work in Halifax, Nova Scotia at the Anna Leonowens gallery, opening on June 21st. I know you will be seeing more of Lily’s work in years to come. I will bask in the small glory that  you read about her on Carrotfarm first.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

~ by carrotfarm on April 26, 2010.

One Response to “Land and Construct: Lily Mead Martin’s Abstract Architecture”

  1. my favorite edinburgh artist:http://thingsilikeaboutoday.blogspot.com/
    and a Scottish writer who created “geo-poetics”: Kenneth White. If you re still interested in “flânerie”, you should check the “Retour du flâneur” event, organised by a Quebécois research lab at UQAM: http://www.latraversee.uqam.ca/retourflaneur
    After “depanneurs”, the space-theme is the night.
    Hope eveything is good in Scotland!

Leave a Reply

 
